Resource: Master the code review

I thought my team had a pretty good code review (PR) process, yet I decided to buy Curtis Einsmann's Master the code review course.

The material was engaging and delivered some practical, and actionable advice! A few weeks after completion, I was able to apply the lessons, and share some with my team. Here is a summary of what has changed for us:

  • we have a documented (evergreen!) code review process
  • our PRs are more polished, and we write better descriptions for them
  • PR comments are clearer
  • the team is excited about it all!

A lot of the advice is helpful while coding as well. In anticipation of the review, I asked myself these questions:

  • Is this going to be painful to review?
  • How can I simplify?
  • What mistakes did I miss?

All in all, the course was impactful and well worth it (25 USD, ~5 hour investment). It also motivated me to buy a programming book (A Philosophy of software design), which is something I hadn't done in a while!